why write?

stuffy in the head, and unable to decide on anything nice to do, i thought i’d take a chance on this stream of the interweb, to spew a few thoughts forth, and see what happens.

why write?  i ask myself.  i’ve been trying to get myself writing for a bit now… on topics, in web form, somewhere out here on the nets, but not usually just for expressions sake.  i find that i want to create some document that will draw people into the strange and esoteric worlds i’ve gotten into.  my  most recent attempt at writing  quickly became more about the tools i was using to write and publish than it was about how i felt, what i thought, or what ideas i may have had.  perhaps this inevitable when attempting to setup one’s own publishing framework.  however, i think my obsession with media and technology has me constantly in a thought loop about what means/medium i use to say something.  Marshall McLuhan insisted “the medium is the message.”  So what is the message?  And in this digital world, what exactly is the media?  Dunno.  I keep thinking about it though.

….—++++.._—====++++

as i’ve been getting back into music, i find myself less inclined to pursue these intellectual trains.  i’m more inclined to resort to more juvenile habits, entertaining myself while i wait for moments of inspiration to strike, allowing a few hours here and there to satisfy my desire for “progress” while the rest of my time is generally unedifying.  too bad there isn’t more true idleness, i feel then i’d be doodling and daydreaming between inspirations rather than feeding my nervous system with some kind of electronic connection.  word.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

